My Swing SWT and Eclipse are crashing constantly

SWT Designer allows you to create the views, editors, perspectives, pref pages, composites, etc. that comprise Eclipse SWT & RCP applications and plug-ins.

Moderators: Konstantin.Scheglov, gnebling, Alexander.Mitin, jwren, Eric Clayberg

My Swing SWT and Eclipse are crashing constantly

Postby SteveC » Mon May 02, 2005 12:10 pm

Help. I am a non programmer trying to develop a GUI that I can hand over to a developer coworker to fill in the blanks. I am running JDK Version 1.4.2_5, Eclipse version 3.0.2, and WindowBuilder Pro Version 4.0.1. All of this running on WindowsXP.

I am at a point in my design where my Eclipse environment is crashing every few minutes. When I try to add a button or sometimes just move something the whole environment goes away and the following message appears on the screen.

JVM Terminated. Exit Code=1
C:\WINDOWS\system32\javaw.exe
-cp C;\Documents and Settings\Steve\MyDocuments...
-os win 32
-ws win 32
-arch x86
-showsplash C:\document and settings...
-exitdata C:\document and settings...
-vm c:\windows\system 32\javaw.exe
-vmargs
-cp c:\documentsandsettinegs\steve...

It forces me to hit OK and then I have to restart the program.

Thanks for any help or advice you can provide.
SteveC

Re: My Swing SWT and Eclipse are crashing constantly

Postby Eric Clayberg » Mon May 02, 2005 1:41 pm

SteveC wrote:Thanks for any help or advice you can provide.

I know of nothing that would cause Eclipse to crash like that.

I would suggest trying the latest v4.0.1 WindowBuilder build.

If that does not work, send us a test case and we will try and reproduce the problem.
Eric Clayberg
Software Engineering Manager
Google
http://code.google.com/webtoolkit/download.html

Author: "Eclipse Plug-ins"
http://www.qualityeclipse.com
Eric Clayberg

Postby Slot Head » Mon Jul 18, 2005 8:11 am

This must be very frustrating.