How do i access other widgets without a static variable?

SWT Designer allows you to create the views, editors, perspectives, pref pages, composites, etc. that comprise Eclipse SWT & RCP applications and plug-ins.

Moderators: Konstantin.Scheglov, gnebling, Alexander.Mitin, jwren, Eric Clayberg

How do i access other widgets without a static variable?

Postby Pippo » Thu Nov 27, 2003 4:13 pm

Hi there i am testing the designer but i stumble in a few problems, i am new to java so maybe its something due to this in which case i apologize in advance..

a) how do i access other widgets.. say i want to write "hello" on a textarea when i press a button. Since you're using anonymous classes there is no way i can see other variables in the main class .. i see in your demo that you press the "make a variable" button and a static appears thus allowing something like
mainwindow.text.settext ()

BUT how is that going to allow me to have more instances of the same window?? that's a definite must in my case as in basically any application? (multiple detail windows..)

please advice. if there is no wat should the class from which the handler is derived have a variable that holds a pointer to the class that generated the widget?

I have a solution in the form of instantiating the window variable (thus handling all OUTSIDE the static main method) a simple code looks like this

public class GuiWindow {

private Text text;
private Button button;

public static void main(String[] args) {
GuiWindow Window = new GuiWindow();
Window.addWidgets();
}
/**
*/
private void addWidgets() {
final Display display = new Display();
final Shell shell = new Shell();
shell.setLayout(new GridLayout());
shell.setText("SWT Application");
{
final Composite composite = new Composite(shell, SWT.NONE);
composite.setLayout(new GridLayout());
}
{
text = new Text(shell, SWT.BORDER);
text.setLayoutData(new GridData());
}
{
button = new Button(shell, SWT.NONE);