Unsupported widgets

WindowTester allows you to easily create and run unit tests for every GUI they build. It can also be used to generate system level tests.

Moderators: gnebling, Eric Clayberg, Dan Rubel, keertip, Phil Quitslund

Unsupported widgets

Postby brs » Mon Mar 19, 2007 9:51 am

Hi.

I notice that some of the widgets in the Eclipse workbench are not supported during recording by Window Tester. An example of these is the New pulldown button in the Eclipse main toolbar. Is there a comprehensive list of the widgets that are currently not supported by Window Tester? Could one be provided?

TIA,
B.
brs
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 6:05 am
Location: Chichester, UK

Postby Phil Quitslund » Wed Mar 21, 2007 2:50 pm

We're in the process of making a number of fixes in this area. As it stands, known recorder limitations include:

    ToolItems (not being properly identified) -- fix on the way
    ToolItem Action Menu Pull-downs -- also in progress
    Drag and Drop
    Form Editor actions (e.g., hyperlinks)
    GEF/Draw2D (also in the works)


Custom widget subclasses are also not fully supported (viewtopic.php?t=1330).
--
Phil Quitslund
Software Engineer
Google, Inc.
Phil Quitslund
Moderator
 
Posts: 491
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 6:26 am

Postby gnebling » Tue Apr 03, 2007 2:01 pm

Support for ToolItems is now available in the latest beta build.

Download WindowTesterPro here:
http://www.instantiations.com/windowtes ... nload.html
gnebling
Moderator
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 7:49 am

Re: Unsupported widgets

Postby akravets » Mon Feb 25, 2008 11:31 am

Hi,

Just wanted to follow up on the status of adding hyperlinks, GEF support. Also, we have a separate launch configuration that launches an AWT frame from the Eclipse runtime that was launched during the test, how does something like this gets tested?

thanks,
Alex
akravets
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 1:05 pm

Re: Unsupported widgets

Postby Phil Quitslund » Mon Feb 25, 2008 12:33 pm

Hi Alex,

GEF support is approaching its first official release (debuting at EclipseCon). The current beta includes work in progress...

As for hyperlinks, we are working on extended Forms support but will not get too far until we get the GEF bits finished. In the meantime, folks have had a lot of luck with hyperlinks that they have named (the recorder will pick these up and identofy them with a NamedWidgetLocator).

Finally, we'll have to look into your AWT frame launching use case. The quickest way for us to get a handle on this would be if we had a local repro. Could you send us a small snippet that demonstrates what you are trying to do?

Many thanks!
--
Phil Quitslund
Software Engineer
Google, Inc.
Phil Quitslund
Moderator
 
Posts: 491
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 6:26 am

Re: Unsupported widgets

Postby akravets » Mon Feb 25, 2008 12:51 pm

Thanks Phil!

Looking forward to meeting you guys at EclipseCon! Also, if you want to see what I mean about AWT frame launch, you can download the SDK (it's quick) that uses it: http://bugcommunity.com/wiki/index.php/ ... onfly_SDKs

thanks,
Alex
akravets
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 1:05 pm

Re: Unsupported widgets

Postby Phil Quitslund » Mon Feb 25, 2008 1:16 pm

Good deal. We'll try and look at it before then. Let's be sure to sit down for a bit at EclipseCon. It would be great to discuss issues face to face.

Looking forward to it!
--
Phil Quitslund
Software Engineer
Google, Inc.
Phil Quitslund
Moderator
 
Posts: 491
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 6:26 am

Re: Unsupported widgets

Postby akravets » Mon Feb 25, 2008 1:34 pm

Great, thank you!
akravets
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 1:05 pm

Re: Unsupported widgets

Postby EDWARD BOLLES » Thu Jun 26, 2008 11:26 am

WindowTester: WindowTesterPro_v3.0.1.200806101125
Eclipse: Eclipse SDK 3.3.1.1
Use: Evaluation

Hi,

I was wondering what the situation is for Drag and Drop Feature. For example, I get the following problem.

When an object is dragged and dropped onto canvas, the following error is flagged in the script.
ui.dragTo(new AevProcessFigureLocator()); //AevProcessFigureLocator cannot be resolved to a type

Below is the entire script with the error comment included.

/* DRAG OBJECT TO CANVAS */
import com.windowtester.runtime.swt.locator.CTabItemLocator;
import com.windowtester.runtime.swt.UITestCaseSWT;
import com.windowtester.runtime.IUIContext;
import com.windowtester.runtime.swt.locator.MenuItemLocator;
import com.windowtester.runtime.swt.condition.shell.ShellShowingCondition;
import com.windowtester.runtime.swt.locator.TableItemLocator;
import com.windowtester.runtime.swt.locator.ButtonLocator;
import com.windowtester.runtime.swt.condition.shell.ShellDisposedCondition;
import com.windowtester.runtime.swt.locator.SWTWidgetLocator;
import org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Tree;
import com.windowtester.runtime.swt.locator.eclipse.ViewLocator;
import com.windowtester.runtime.swt.locator.TreeItemLocator;
import com.windowtester.runtime.WT;
import com.windowtester.runtime.gef.locator.PaletteButtonLocator;
import com.windowtester.runtime.gef.locator.PaletteItemLocator;
import com.windowtester.runtime.gef.locator.FigureClassLocator;
import com.windowtester.runtime.swt.locator.eclipse.ContributedToolItemLocator;

public class dragDrop extends UITestCaseSWT {

/**
* Main test method.
*/
public void testdragDrop() throws Exception {
IUIContext ui = getUI();
ui.close(new CTabItemLocator("Welcome"));
ui.click(new MenuItemLocator("Window/Open Perspective/Other..."));
ui.wait(new ShellShowingCondition("Open Perspective"));
ui.click(new TableItemLocator("RCPApplication"));
ui.click(new ButtonLocator("OK"));
ui.wait(new ShellDisposedCondition("Open Perspective"));
ui.contextClick(new SWTWidgetLocator(Tree.class, new ViewLocator(
"org.eclipse.ui.navigator.ProjectExplorer")),
"&New/Project");
ui.wait(new ShellShowingCondition("New Project"));
ui.enterText("newProject");
ui.click(new ButtonLocator("&Finish"));
ui.wait(new ShellDisposedCondition("Progress Information"));
ui.wait(new ShellDisposedCondition("New Project"));
ui.contextClick(new TreeItemLocator("newProject/bpel",
new ViewLocator("org.eclipse.ui.navigator.ProjectExplorer")),
"New/ Process");
ui.wait(new ShellShowingCondition("New Process"));
ui.enterText("newProcess");
ui.keyClick(WT.CR);
ui.wait(new ShellDisposedCondition("New Process"));
ui.click(new PaletteButtonLocator());
ui.click(new PaletteItemLocator("Container"));

ui.dragTo(new AevProcessFigureLocator()); //AevProcessFigureLocator cannot be resolved to a type

ui.click(new ContributedToolItemLocator("org.eclipse.ui.file.save"));
ui.close(new CTabItemLocator("newProcess.bpel"));
ui.click(new TreeItemLocator("newProject",
new ViewLocator("org.eclipse.ui.navigator.ProjectExplorer")));
ui.contextClick(new TreeItemLocator("newProject",
new ViewLocator("org.eclipse.ui.navigator.ProjectExplorer")),
"Delete");
ui.wait(new ShellShowingCondition("Confirm Project Delete"));
ui.click(new ButtonLocator("&Yes"));
ui.wait(new ShellDisposedCondition("Confirm Project Delete"));
ui.wait(new ShellDisposedCondition("Progress Information"));
ui.wait(new ShellShowingCondition("Deleting resources"));
ui.wait(new ShellDisposedCondition("Deleting resources"));
}

}
EDWARD BOLLES
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 9:02 am

Re: Unsupported widgets

Postby Phil Quitslund » Thu Jun 26, 2008 11:29 am

Drag and drop recording is tricky and in many places unsupported. We've tried harder to get things working in GEF since it is such an essential aspect of how people interact with GEF components but there are likely to be corner cases that need exploring. Are you dragging from the palette unto the canvas or from the explorer or another view?
--
Phil Quitslund
Software Engineer
Google, Inc.
Phil Quitslund
Moderator
 
Posts: 491
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 6:26 am

Re: Unsupported widgets

Postby EDWARD BOLLES » Thu Jun 26, 2008 11:36 am

Hi,

I am dragging objects from a pallette or from another view (or pane). Also, dragging objects within the canvas is problematic.

Edward.
EDWARD BOLLES
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 9:02 am

Re: Unsupported widgets

Postby Phil Quitslund » Thu Jun 26, 2008 11:56 am

Thanks for the clarification.

The best thing to do would be to follow up with a bug report:

wintest-support@instantiations.com

This will register the issue with our bug tracker and we can investigate and schedule a fix.
--
Phil Quitslund
Software Engineer
Google, Inc.
Phil Quitslund
Moderator
 
Posts: 491
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 6:26 am


Return to Window Tester

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest