Checkpoint Restart anyone?

VA Smalltalk is a "100% VisualAge compatible" IDE that includes the original VisualAge technology and the popular VA Assist and WidgetKit add-ons.

Moderators: Eric Clayberg, wembley, tc, Diane Engles, solveig

Checkpoint Restart anyone?

Postby dmacqueen » Tue Jun 24, 2008 7:22 am

The JAS/JWARS scenarios are now using faster machines which of course has enabled analysts to create scenarios that run longer. So we are once again revisiting the idea of checkpoint/restart.

The idea is that, instead of always running a 100 day scenario from the beginning, the analyst would run, say, the first 60 days, and then save (checkpoint) the image. Later, when he opened (restarted) that image, he could then proceed with his scenario run starting at day 60.

I know that there are hooks in the code to do special things when the image checkpoints, and to do other special things when a checkpointed image restarts. But, has anyone actually done this?

Thanks in advance.

[ jWarrior ]
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 3:40 pm

Re: Checkpoint Restart anyone?

Postby tc » Tue Jul 01, 2008 6:35 am


I've not seen this in any st group I've worked in but is it possible save data out and reload it when the image is restarted?

Posts: 304
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 7:40 am
Location: Raleigh, NC

Return to VA Smalltalk 7.0, 7.5 & 8.0

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest